Pôle d'information et portail de leadership éclairé de Boart Longyear

ENTREPRISE

juillet 26, 2019

Boart Longyear célèbre la journée Nelson Mandela

Cette année, le Fondation Nelson Mandela célébré 10 ans de Jour Mandela le 18 juillet. Ce fut une occasion parfaite pour les employés de Boart Longyear dans le monde entier de célébrer et d'honorer le travail humanitaire de Mandela en redonnant aux communautés locales de lutter contre la pauvreté.

«Ce qui compte dans la vie, ce n'est pas le simple fait que nous ayons vécu. C'est la différence que nous avons apportée à la vie des autres qui déterminera la signification de la vie que nous menons. "  Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela, révolutionnaire sud-africain anti-apartheid, leader inspirant, fonctionnaire et philanthrope, a été président de l'Afrique du Sud de 1994 à 1999 et a été salué par la communauté internationale pour son militantisme, notamment le Prix Nobel de la Paix en 1993.

L'idée de la Journée Mandela a été inspirée par Nelson Mandela lors de la célébration de son 90e anniversaire à Hyde Park à Londres en 2008 lorsqu'il a déclaré: "Il est temps que de nouvelles mains soulèvent le fardeau. C'est entre vos mains maintenant." Les Nations Unies ont officiellement proclamé le 18 juillet Journée internationale Nelson Mandela en novembre 2009, reconnaissant les "valeurs et le dévouement de Mandela au service de l'humanité" et reconnaissant sa contribution "à la lutte pour la démocratie sur le plan international et à la promotion d'une culture de la paix tout au long de l'année". monde."

Les bureaux de Boart Longyear du monde entier ont été invités à organiser un projet de service le 18 juillet pour célébrer l'humain en nous, lutter contre la pauvreté et redonner à nos communautés. Voici quelques-uns des résultats de Boart Longyear issus de cette initiative mondiale:

Salt Lake City, Utah

Le centre d'opérations de Salt Lake City (siège mondial de Boart Longyear) a organisé une levée de fonds, un don et une occasion de bénévolat pour célébrer la journée Mandela. Ils se sont associés à United Way of Salt Lake pour mener à bien un projet d'emballage de trousses de collations.

Dans les écoles communautaires avoisinantes, un grand pourcentage d’élèves sont issus de familles à faible revenu. Les projets d’emballage des kits ont été bénéfiques pour ces étudiants et leur ont fourni des éléments de base qui leur ont permis d’entrer dans la classe, prêts à apprendre.

Pour contribuer, les employés:

1. Achat de collations emballées individuellement pour les kits de collations.

2. Don de fonds pour acheter des collations supplémentaires.

3. Bénévolat le 18 juillet pour assembler des kits de collations et les préparer pour la livraison locale.

L'objectif était de donner suffisamment d'articles pour emballer 300 kits de collations, soit à peu près le nombre d'employés du centre d'opérations de Salt Lake. Cependant, les employés ont été en mesure d’emballer plus de 1 400 kits de collations dans une école primaire afin que les élèves puissent entrer en classe prêts à apprendre. De plus, les employés ont rédigé des notes d’amour et d’encouragement et ont inclus une note dans chaque trousse de collations.

Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud

Le bureau de Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud, s'est associé à Bethany House Trust, une agence de protection de l'enfance, et a fourni de la nourriture à plus de 90 enfants le 18 juillet.

Bethany House Trust propose plusieurs programmes spécialisés destinés aux enfants orphelins et aux enfants à risque. Le centre est implanté dans plusieurs propriétés résidentielles et est opérationnel depuis octobre 1999. Il accueille actuellement 90 enfants âgés de moins de 18 ans. Bethany House a pour objectif de briser le cycle de la maltraitance dans la vie de l'enfant et de faciliter la guérison et la réintégration dans la communauté en tant que membre productif de la société. Suivant une approche holistique, les besoins physiques, éducatifs, émotionnels et spirituels des enfants victimes sont satisfaits. Les adolescents participent également à un programme de vie autonome afin de les préparer à la vie en dehors du foyer pour enfants.

L'équipe Boart Longyear a préparé et servi le déjeuner pour les enfants à Bethany House Trust. La journée a été un franc succès et plus de 90 enfants ont été nourris par des employés le 18 juillet. L’équipe de Boart Longyear s’engage à poursuivre ses relations avec Bethany House et les enfants. L’équipe a considéré l’expérience comme révélatrice et a perçu cet acte de gentillesse comme un excellent point de départ pour se tourner continuellement vers l’extérieur et soutenir la communauté locale.

Jakarta, Indonésie

Il existe un lien spécial avec Nelson Mandela et l'Indonésie… et il se trouve que ce sont ses chemises imprimées. Connu sous le nom de «chemise Madiba», ce vêtement informel était un moyen pour Mandela de s'identifier à la plupart de ses gens qui ne portaient jamais de costume, selon Yusuf Surtee, tailleur de longue date de Mandela.

Alors que l'histoire du maillot remonte à la première dynastie égyptienne, Mandela a commencé à l'apprécier lorsqu'il a reçu le t-shirt en Batik imprimé par le président indonésien Suharto en 1990. Il s'agit d'un motif indonésien traditionnel que les dirigeants du monde portent encore aujourd'hui. .

Pour honorer l'héritage de Mandela, le bureau de Boart Longyear Jakarta, vêtu de chemises en batik traditionnel, a collecté des vêtements et des dons en faveur d'une fondation locale qui gère l'éducation des enfants et la lutte contre la pauvreté.

Vientiane, Laos

Le bureau de Boart Longyear à Vientiane a organisé un déjeuner pour la journée Nelson Mandela afin de célébrer l'idée que chaque individu a le pouvoir de transformer le monde et la capacité de faire la lutte contre la pauvreté, de promouvoir la paix, de réconcilier la diversité des cultures et de créer le monde. un meilleur endroit pour les gens.

Lors de cette occasion spéciale, l'équipe de Boart Longyear Laos a fait don de fonds personnels pour soutenir la communauté locale. Les fonds collectés permettront d'acheter du matériel pédagogique pour les communautés scolaires rurales voisines.

Mississauga, Ontario

En l'honneur de Nelson Mandela Day, l'équipe de Boart Longyear au bureau de Mississauga a sponsorisé un don de nourriture pour soutenir la banque alimentaire locale de Mississauga. La Mississauga Food Bank est la banque alimentaire centrale de Mississauga. Elle fournit de la nourriture à plus de 217 000 repas par mois par l’intermédiaire d’un réseau de 50 agences. Leur objectif est de fournir des aliments adéquats des quatre catégories du Guide alimentaire canadien - fruits et légumes, protéines, céréales et produits laitiers - afin de fournir un régime équilibré aux utilisateurs des banques alimentaires pendant plus de 7 jours par mois. Des milliers de personnes et de familles de Mississauga font chaque jour appel à la Mississauga Food Bank.

Pour contribuer, les employés:

1. Collecter des aliments non périssables à donner.

2. Dons de nourriture livrés à la banque alimentaire de Mississauga

L’initiative de collecte d’aliments a été un succès et tous les employés ont apprécié participer et contribuer aux personnes locales dans le besoin.

Avec une personne sur sept qui a faim dans le monde, ce fut une expérience humiliante de joindre ses forces et de contribuer de façon modeste.

"Tant que la pauvreté, l'injustice et les inégalités flagrantes persistent dans notre monde, aucun de nous ne peut vraiment se reposer."  Nelson Mandela

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS AU INSITE DIGEST

Inscrivez-vous au bulletin mensuel INSITE Digest pour recevoir des articles comme celui-ci et plus.

S'INSCRIRE MAINTENANT

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Boutons de partage simples
fr_FRFrench
en_USEnglish es_ESSpanish de_DEGerman fr_FRFrench

Information hub and thought leadership portal by Boart Longyear

COMPANY

July 26, 2019

Boart Longyear Celebrates Nelson Mandela Day

This year, the Nelson Mandela Foundation celebrated 10 years of Mandela Day on July 18th. It was a perfect opportunity for Boart Longyear employees in locations around the world to celebrate and honor Mandela’s humanitarian work by giving back to local communities to fight poverty.

“What counts in life is not the mere fact that we have lived. It is what difference we have made to the lives of others that will determine the significance of the life we lead.”  Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela, a South African anti-apartheid revolutionary, inspirational leader, public servant, and philanthropist, served as President of South Africa from 1994 to 1999 and gained international acclaim for his activism including winning the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993.

The idea of Mandela Day was inspired by Nelson Mandela at his 90th birthday celebration in London’s Hyde Park in 2008 when he said: "It is time for new hands to lift the burdens. It is in your hands now." The United Nations officially declared July 18th as Nelson Mandela International Day in November 2009, recognizing Mandela’s "values and his dedication to the service of humanity" and acknowledging his contribution "to the struggle for democracy internationally and the promotion of a culture of peace throughout the world."

Boart Longyear offices around the world were invited  to organize a service project on July 18th to celebrate the humanitarian in all of us, fight poverty, and give back to our communities. Here are some of Boart Longyear’s results from this worldwide initiative:

Salt Lake City, Utah

The Salt Lake City Operations Center (Boart Longyear’s global headquarters) organized a fundraiser, donation, and volunteer opportunity to celebrate Mandela Day. They partnered with the United Way of Salt Lake to complete a snack kit packing project.

In surrounding community schools, a large percentage of the students come from low income families. Kit packing projects benefited these students and provided them with basic items that allowed them to enter the classroom ready to learn.

In order to contribute, employees:

1. Purchased individually wrapped snacks for the snack kits.

2. Donated funds to purchase additional snacks.

3. Volunteered on July 18th to assemble snack kits and prepared them for local delivery.

The goal was to donate enough items to pack 300 snack kits – roughly the number of employees in the Salt Lake Operations Center. However, employees were able to pack over 1,400 snack kits for a local elementary school so that students could enter the classroom ready to learn. As an added touch, employees wrote notes of love and encouragement and included a note in each snack kit.

Johannesburg, South Africa

The Johannesburg, South Africa office partnered with Bethany House Trust, a child protection agency, and provided over 90 children with food on July 18th.

The Bethany House Trust provides several specialized programs for orphaned children and children at risk. The center is located across several residential properties and has been in operation since October 1999. It currently accommodates 90 children, with ages ranging from infant to 18 years old. The aim of Bethany House is to break the cycle of abuse in the child’s life and facilitate healing and re-integration into the community as a productive member of society. Following a holistic approach, the physical, educational, emotional, and spiritual needs of the child victims are met. Teenagers also participate in an independent living program to prepare them for life outside the children’s home.

The Boart Longyear team prepared and served lunch for the children at Bethany House Trust. The day was a huge success, and over 90 children were fed by employees on July 18th. The Boart Longyear team is committed to continuing their relationship with Bethany House and the children. The team considered the experience to be eye-opening and view this act of kindness as a great starting point to continually turn outward and support the local community.

Jakarta, Indonesia

There’s a special connection with Nelson Mandela and Indonesia… and it happens to be his signature printed shirts. Known as the "Madiba Shirt," the informal garment was a way for Mandela to identify with most of his people who never wore suits, according to Yusuf Surtee, Mandela’s longtime tailor.

While the history of the shirt dates as far back to Egypt’s first dynasty, Mandela first became fond of the item when he was given batik print shirts by Indonesia’s President Suharto in 1990. The pattern is a traditional Indonesian one that’s still worn by world leaders today.

To honor Mandela’s legacy, the Boart Longyear Jakarta office dressed in traditional batik print shirts and collected clothes and donations to give to a local foundation that manages child education and aids with poverty.

Vientiane, Laos

The Boart Longyear Vientiane office organized a luncheon for Nelson Mandela Day to celebrate the idea that each individual has the power to transform the world and the ability to make an impact to fight poverty, promote peace, reconciliate the diversity of culture, and make the world a better place for people.

During this special occasion, the Boart Longyear Laos team donated personal funds to support the local community. The collected funds will buy educational materials for neighboring rural school communities.

Mississauga, Ontario

In honor of Nelson Mandela Day, the Boart Longyear team at the Mississauga office sponsored a food donation to support the local Mississauga Food Bank. The Mississauga Food Bank is the central food bank in Mississauga, providing food for over 217,000 meals each month through a network of 50 agencies. Their objective is to provide adequate food from the four categories of Canada’s Food Guide – fruit and vegetables, protein, grains, and dairy products – to provide a balanced diet to food bank users for 7+ days each month. Thousands of individuals and families across Mississauga rely on the Mississauga Food Bank every day.

In order to contribute, employees:

1. Collected non-perishable food items to donate.

2. Delivered food donations to the Mississauga Food Bank

The food collection initiative was a success, and all employees enjoyed participating and contributing to local individuals in need.

With one in seven people hungry across the world, it was a humbling experience to join forces and contribute in a small way.

“As long as poverty, injustice and gross inequality persist in our world, none of us can truly rest.”  Nelson Mandela

SIGN UP FOR THE INSITE DIGEST

Sign up for the monthly INSITE Digest to receive articles like this and more.

SIGN UP NOW

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Simple Share Buttons
en_USEnglish
es_ESSpanish fr_FRFrench de_DEGerman en_USEnglish